I like the way I get all jumpy and freaked out over opportunities to be creative. Some might see this as a problem (the kind that might necessitate a notepad and a couch), but I see it as me being a bit childlike when it comes to creativity.

Maybe a lot childlike.

But then I totally dig children, and for good reason. They can teach us a lot, and if we dare to be more like them we might be better people.

I recently discovered @tspoetry on Twitter, and the discovery hit me like a cold breeze in Florida (rare, I know, but work with me). It slapped me awake and made me blink really fast for a few minutes. And then I wanted to write poetry again. Lots of it. All the exercises and challenges. All the poetry. About all the things. Now.

I’m pretty sure this is what tortures artists so, this longing to do everything at once. To draw and paint and write and speak and perform and decorate and make beautiful things, and all with an urgency that is tough to explain.

It takes one to know one, I think, and I’m pretty sure there will be some who read this who will crawl into the post with me because they know.

So I’ve been slowly trying to dissect how to actually go about writing in response to all these challenges, and then tonight doggone if I didn’t see something about flash fiction. Shiny! That, too! Yes!

I’m a kid in a candy store when it comes to this stuff. It’s going to take a lot of self-discipline to pace myself so I don’t go mad.

But I like it, this artistic wildness that demands to be expressed rightthisveryminute.

It’s me.

– – – – – – – – – –

Join us?

4 thoughts on “Day 2: I like my creative excitability {31 Days of What I Like About Me}

  1. I love this about you. Ya I’m a little like that with thought writing. But I’m not as creative as you. Girl you are gifted!!

Share your heart, too?

