Mine is a welcoming smile. I was told once that it’s the first thing people notice when they meet me. I always assumed the first thing people noticed was my size, so that came as a bit of a shock to me. A good shock.

It comes naturally to me, smiling. I am genuinely delighted when I greet someone else.

This weekend I am spending time with my beautiful friend AJ, and on Monday I will be hugging my beloved Jo Ann Fore in person for the first time. There will be much smiling done over the next few days.

If my smile is the first thing people see when I arrive, I’d like it to be the last thing they see before I walk away. Like bookends that communicate love and grace, that is one of my best gifts to give.

Share your heart, too?

