guarded

Guarded safe by fence of steel
Cannot cry and cannot feel
Never need or hurt or grieve
It’s what I want them to believe
Walls are strong and chasm wide
I need no one by my side

Sitting in a rocking chair
Late at night with no one there
Longing, my unwelcome guest
Battles to disturb my rest
Will I ever know sweet peace
I cannot fathom such release

Borne on wings of angel wind
Gift of God, an honest friend
Walls all tumble, bridges span
When love extends a guileless hand
I reach across the Great Divide
To find me somewhere by her side

 

 

Featured at Write Where It Hurts

Share your heart, too?

