chocfriendsWe keep trying to get together, my friend Mandy and I. I think we’ve had to cancel three or four times just over the past few months, for one reason or another. The latest cancellation was today, with me mending but not quite over some crud that finally chased me down. I try hard to be invincible, but my humanness rats me out sometimes.

So today even though we had to cancel getting together, she and her husband and little boys stopped by to drop off some books for my granddaughter (who is stuck with her pitiful ol’ Mimi while Daddy and Mommy are away for their anniversary). As Mandy handed me the bag of books, she indicated a smaller bag and said, “This is for you.”

I thanked her, and after we chatted for a minute I gave her a mostly-sterile hug and she was on her way.

Inside, I got Belle settled with her new-to-her books and opened the bag Mandy had said was for me. Peering inside, I found a Pepsi and a Hershey’s with almonds. My favorites. Best thing of all, she knew they were my favorites.

There are friends, and there are what I call chocolate friends–those who bring you simple (but wonderful) things like Hershey bars because they know you love them and because they want to make you smile.

She made me smile today, and I’m already looking forward to the next time we don’t have to cancel.

Share your heart, too?

