DSC_0542

Our power went out this morning. Here on the west central Florida coast we have our fair share of haters because our weather is so warm for most of the year, including times like this when our friends are in -60 and -80. I’m telling you what–I would just plain die.

Anyway, back to this morning. It froze here last night, and in this humidity that’s mighty uncomfortable. Thanks to great insulation and the fact that just a few days ago it was in the 80’s here, I hadn’t needed to run the heater till this morning when I got up and thought I’d turn it on just for a bit to take the chill off the house. I’m glad I did, since the power went out about two hours later.

When the house began to cool down again, I wrapped up in my favorite blanket and tucked myself into a cozy chair in the living room near the window so I could see how to write. I grabbed a journal and a couple of pens and settled in to wait out the return of an electric current. When it all buzzed back to life two hours later, I looked up and grinned, turned on my favorite soundscapes soft music channel, made myself a cup of hot chocolate and sipped it while I continued writing, and then dozed off to sleep.

It’s moments like those, that kind of peace and calm and beauty in the midst of something not so enamoring that reminds me of what a beautiful life I live.

I don’t take it for granted. Not for a moment.

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Blessings

  1. It’s those moments that keep us going at times .. we give in to the hustle and bustle so much and forget to take a moment for ourselves. Things like power outages can supply us with a breath of fresh air if we waste too much time being upset by the inconvenience. I’m glad you had time to yourself today .. for writing and for just … being.

Share your heart, too?

